My First Finnish Concert

This past weekend was a bittersweet one for sure. We lost our first game back to the #2 ranked team, at home…so that was bitter. We didn’t quite deserve to win that game after how we played the first quarter though; however, we finally picked it up each quarter and played really well in the 4th. Unfortunately, basketball games are 40 minutes, so 10 minutes of good basketball isn’t gunna cut it. The “sweet” part of the weekend came on Saturday night when my teammates and I attended a finnish “rap” concert. The artist’s name was Karri Koira…here are a few pictures and even a link to Youtube, if you are reallyyyy interested haha :

karri    kr

There were two singers actually. The other guy’s name was Ruudolf. It was definitely an interesting experience; attending a concert in a language you don’t know. But the beats were pretty cool and it was just fun to dance and hang out with my teammates. The highlight of the night for me was when they sang their version of “The World’s Greatest” by R. Kelly in Finnish….I however, belted it out in English 🙂 Made me proud of the great music in the US of A when I heard the tune start to play!

Well that’s really all the interesting updates in my life here so far. I did have a nice fall on my bike the other day while riding in the snow / ice. Not quite the best mode of transportation for the climate here, but we have to make do with what we have. I just have really bad luck with slippery surfaces :-/. I am keeping quite warm though, thanks to my Christmas gifts, so that is veryyyy nice 🙂 I also figured out how to watch ESPN online here today, so that was a nice find! It’s funny how there are some little things in life that can bring you so much joy!

Our next game is Thursday, away, so hopefully we can start the game playing how we ended the last and put together 4 good quarters! Hope everyone is staying warm, healthy, and positive! And when in doubt, just take a few deeeeeep breaths…..and think about all the great things in your life! That should help, and make you smile :)…. usually works for me.

Have a great rest of the week everyone!
Much love,

-Cal

2 thoughts on “My First Finnish Concert

  1. Sorry to hear about your fall on the ice. Been there!!

    P.S Watched the video.. Rapper looks a little like Stefan. 😉

    Love you, miss you!!

Leave a Reply

