Back To “Finnish” Strong !

SAM_0095

Hello my fellow followers! I’m back in Finland ๐Ÿ™‚ and wow it’s been a long time since my last blog! I’ve kind of missed sharing my random thoughts with my computer screen, hoping that someone is reading them…..other than my mom and dad. haha Even if no one is, it’s still fun and somewhat therapeutic. But anyways, since it has been a while since my last post, I’ll just give a brief summary of what has happened in my life in the meantime. I was lucky enough to get to go home for about 2 and half weeks….the longest Christmas break I have had in a long time, that’s for sure. Definitely beats my 4 days in college! It was great just to spend time with family and friends and be in the amazing US of A ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m pretty sure I ate enough good American food to last me these next months in Finland! haha I truly loved being home and just IN my home, hanging out, and again being around my family. I had some great Christmas celebrations and an awesome New Year’s Eve/Day! I couldn’t have asked for a better break and unfortunately, because of that, will again be counting down the days until I’m back…maybe not so obsessively this time.

Even though it was a great break, I have dearly missed one of my other loves in life…..basketball games. I can’t wait for our first one back, this Saturday! I’m excited, refreshed, and determined to finish off this season the best I can and just keep improving game by game. I have also missed my teammates and friends here in Finland. I was already welcomed by a few of them the day after I arrived… with a yummy cake and awesome hugs ๐Ÿ™‚ I am also excited because I am going to be much more prepared this time around; I finally got some boots and warmer winter gear! So no more freezing my butt off for me ๐Ÿ™‚ Bring it on Finland!! haha (a special thanks to my parents, AMAZING brother Matt and his girlfriend Andrea, and Beth Garrison for the great winter wear!)

All in all, it felt great to be home, but it also feels good to be back and get back to work! I hope everyone had an amazing holiday season with friends and family as well. I already started missing mine before I left! haha yep, tears (only like 2 or 3, please ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) were flowin a little at dinner the night before, but hey, I’m only human, right?! So thanks again to everyone back home for making my break an awesome one, love you all so much! And hello to everyone here in Finland that I get to see soon, I’ve missed you as well! And even though 2012 was a pretty great year, I believe 2013 is going to be even better!

Until next time…

-Cal

One thought on “Back To “Finnish” Strong !

  1. The pleasure was entirely ours to have daughter Callan with us for an extended Christmas holiday. It had been years since we have shared the Christmas season with her because of collegiate basketball obligations, although sometimes we went out East to share them with her while enjoying watching her play. What an amazing basketball player, teammate, friend, sister, and, most importantly for me, daughter my Callan is – how fortunate I am to be your father!

Leave a Reply

