A Win Is A Win!

81-80! That was the final score of our game yesterday…we finallyy got our first win of the season! It wasn’t the prettiest game by any means, but we got the job done, and that’s all that matters. It felt/feels so good to finally have that first win under our belts…I think this will give us more confidence, teach us many things about what we need to do in order to win, and hopefully we can keep it goin. We don’t play again until Saturday, so I’m looking forward to a good energetic week of practice. I think attitudes and spirits will be different this week, translating into a lot of improvement amongst the team.

…..on a side note: Last Saturday after practice we actually had this little relaxation / visualization time, where a lady came and talked to us (our manager was translating) about how powerful our thoughts and mind really is and how much the mental aspect of the game plays a role in the physical one. I thought it was really cool. Even though the room was freezing, we all laid down on mats and tried to relax and visualize. She taught us a lot about how important it is before games especially to mentally go through the entire game and tell your mind how you are going to play and accomplish the task at hand. I sometimes struggle with the mental aspect of games, and let my thoughts affect my play, so I thought this was really beneficial for me. I think it is going to help a lot of us. It is also something you can take with you in different aspects of your life, not just basketball. Visualizing yourself succeeding in any task you are about to do, and just get those positive thoughts flowing; because, if you truly think one way, negatively for example, you will perform negatively…the mind is that powerful. So positivity people! ๐Ÿ™‚

The snow here is still on the ground and covers the treetops, and I have to admit it is truly breathtaking. It makes me feel like I am in Colorado minus the mountains lol, one of my favorite places ever…not only for its beautiful scenery, but for the great memories I have that go along with it. What I would give to be on the slopes skiing right now! ๐Ÿ™‚ Too bad I can’t check out the slopes in Northern Finland! But don’t think my coach would like that too much?!

Nothing too exciting in the week ahead. Wednesday is of course Halloween tho! ๐Ÿ™‚ They don’t really celebrate it here like we do in the U.S. There are stores that sell decorations and such, and I guess some people dress up when they go out on the weekends, but kids don’t do the whole trick or treat thing….which to me says they don’t celebrate it at all. Gotta go door to door with bags full of candy in order to call it celebrating Halloween, in my book ๐Ÿ™‚ We might carve some pumpkins tho just to get in the spirit a little. All this snow however is making us feel like it is already Christmas season, for some stores it is, but that is what my roommate and I are most excited about. We are planning on doing a little decorating in the apartment, maybe we will wait til after Thanksgiving lol but since they don’t celebrate that here we might just have to get a head start. Can’t have too much Christmas celebrating / spirit I don’t think. We have been told by lots of people that Turku is absolutely gorgeous during the Christmastime. They have lights up all around and along the river that flows through the city and I guess just really get into it. So pumped! I told Brittany (my roommate) that I’m going to start playing Christmas music non-stop in about a few weeks, as a warning haha… don’t think she was as pumped for that idea asย  I was, and maybe i’m exaggerating a little bit, but there is nothing that makes you feel at home and get that warm feeling inside like Christmas music / decorations.

Well I hope everyone has a great start to their week. Hope my east coasters are staying safe during this crazy Hurricane Sandy news I read about! Love and miss you all…..7 weeks until I’m home!! That’s nothinnnnnn ๐Ÿ™‚

Until next time,

-Cal

2 thoughts on “A Win Is A Win!

  1. Congratulations to you and your team for the WIN! I like the positivity idea. It makes so much sense. Thanks for keeping us informed. Agree on the Christmas music!

Leave a Reply

