Second Stop: Helsinki, FI

Now this is what I’m talking about…free internet! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you Helsinki Airport! Chicago, you need to step up your game. Well I made it to Helsinki after an 8 hour and 15 minute flight. My longest international flight to date, and it wasn’t too bad at all. Shared a row with just one other girl, pillows and blankets at your disposal, and even a few meals. Food wasn’t too shabby for an airline. I was tempted into having a glass of red wine too, i mean it was free….I had to! Just to say I did, right?! haha Plus it kind of relaxed my mind and body a little bit. Image(Don’t worry mom, I didn’t drink the entire mini bottle) lol just had a sip ๐Ÿ™‚ ….. anyways, I watched a movie and pretty much just slept the whole way.

 

When I arrived in Finland I entered the passport / Finland border protection line. This ended up being my first nerve-racking encounter. I got up to the front of the line, handed the man my ticket and passport and nervously waiting…why I was nervous I don’t really know why. Then the man asked me how long I was going to be staying in Finland….well I knew that since I hadn’t had a work visa or anything like that 3 months was my limit, so I said that, then he asked me what I was doing in Finland….this was really the first time I was able to say “playing professional basketball”…felt pretty cool (silly I know). His response, “I could have guessed that.” I don’t know if it was my SHU bball sweatshirt that gave it away or my height? Or if he was lying….so after a few more questions, and sweat starting to perspire because I was getting more nervous, he asked me if I had any documentation from the team. LUCKILY, my great former teammate Kaitlin told me to make sure and pack a copy of my contract. Thank gooooodness I decided to put it in my backpack that I brought on the plane, phew! That was a close call. I think I would have been screwed otherwise. Not sure my pure charm would have gotten me past border security, but you never know. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So after finally getting through there, and holding up the line. I made my way through the airport.
So now I am just sitting here, typing aimlessly away since I have about 3 hours to spare. But I think it is time for a nap, since my body thinks it is 3am and has been up pretty much since 2:45am yesterday. So that’s all for now, starting to get a little more nervous to meet my coaches/team, see where I’m living, and just experience more of this foreign country. But overall I am just so blessed and thankful for this opportunity. Going to give it everything I have and take in every moment. Love you all.

-Cal

 

2 thoughts on “Second Stop: Helsinki, FI

  1. Hi Callan! The SHU Facebook page posted something about you this morning heading to Finland to play ball so of course, as a fellow former SHU Swanny b-ball player (1998-2002) AND someone who is “morbidly bored” on a Thursday morning ๐Ÿ™‚ , I had to check it out. Your blog is so cute and I am so excited for you! Enjoy every minute of your experience and know that lots of people are cheering you on! Take care nad best of luck!!
    Leslie Newhard-Nguyen

Leave a Reply

